Rachel Griffin

New York Times bestselling author of The Nature of Witches and the upcoming Wild is the Witch

THE NATURE OF WITCHES

Set in a world where witches have long maintained the climate but are now losing control, Clara Densmore, an Everwitch whose magic is tied to all four seasons, is the world's only hope - despite a curse that could cost her everything.

Rachel Griffin, Author of the 2021 New York Times Bestseller The Nature of Witches

Born and raised in the Pacific Northwest, Rachel has a deep love of nature, from the mountains to the ocean and all the towering evergreens in between. She adores moody skies and thunderstorms, and hopes more vampires settle down in her beloved state of Washington. 

Newsletter

Subscribe to Rachel's newsletter, Enchantments, for occasional updates, news, and behind-the-scenes looks at writing and publishing.

Blog

This is where Rachel writes things other than books. Follow along for her musings on writing, revising, and the writer’s life.

Social

Come say hi! Follow Rachel on Instagram for news about The Nature of Witches, upcoming projects, lots of nature love, and some serious Writer Feelings.

“The Nature of Witches is a love letter to the earth. This lush, atmospheric book charmed me with its magic system, captured my heart with its swoony romance, and stole my breath with its gorgeous words. I want to wallpaper my home with Rachel Griffin's sentences.”

Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of Today Tonight Tomorrow

The Nature of Witches is unlike anything I have read before. With its wholly original take on witches, thought-provoking commentary on climate change, and a swoony romance I would die for, Griffin has crafted a magnificent debut that will have readers on the edge of their seats. To put it simply — I'm obsessed with this book!”

Adalyn Grace, New York Times bestselling author of All the Stars and Teeth

“The forces of nature and magic blend perfectly in this masterfully told story. The Nature of Witches is one of the most well-developed magical worlds I've read in a long time. I couldn't love this book more."

Shea Ernshaw, NYT bestselling author of The Wicked Deep and Winterwood

The Nature of Witches is a timely, thoughtful tale of the responsibilities we have to our planet and to one another. Griffin's well-developed world building and complex main character make for a read that will resonate deeply."

Christine Lynn Herman, author of THE DEVOURING GRAY duology

“Vibrant and magical, The Nature of Witches is an achingly beautiful exploration of love and hope perfect for fans of Shea Ernshaw and Taylor Swift's Folklore. This book is a ray of sunshine.”

Rosiee Thor, author of Tarnished Are the Stars

"A bright, fresh read from a glowing new voice, The Nature of Witches is both timely and stirring. Griffin's emotional writing that cuts to the heart will make her a new YA favorite."

Adrienne Young, New York Times bestselling author of Fable

“I could have stayed lost in the pages and magic of The Nature of Witches forever. Griffin's lush prose and evocative imagery adorns and compliments the thoughtfully designed world, and the well-drawn characters triumphantly carry the story from beginning to end. A stunning and timely debut.”

Isabel Ibañez, author of Woven in Moonlight and Written in Starlight

“Seasonal magic abounds in this addictively thought-provoking tale of love, loss and self-identity.”

Dawn Kurtagich, award-winning author of The Dead House