Books

The Nature of Witches is out now!

Order Now
The Nature of Witches - Rachel Griffin 2021

The Nature of Witches

Instant New York Times bestseller

Publisher's Weekly bestseller

Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association bestseller

Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance bestseller

Practical Magic meets Twister in this debut contemporary fantasy standalone about heartbreaking power, the terror of our collapsing atmosphere, and the ways we unknowingly change our fate.

For centuries, witches have maintained the climate, their power from the sun peaking in the season of their birth. But now their control is faltering as the atmosphere becomes more erratic. All hope lies with Clara Densmore, an Everwitch whose rare magic is tied to every season.

In Autumn, Clara wants nothing to do with her power. It's wild and volatile, and the price of her magic―losing the ones she loves―is too high, despite the need to control the increasingly dangerous weather.

In Winter, the world is on the precipice of disaster. Fires burn, storms rage, and Clara accepts that she's the only one who can make a difference.

In Spring, she falls for Sang, the witch training her. As her magic grows, so do her feelings, until she's terrified Sang will be the next one she loses.

In Summer, Clara must choose between her power and her happiness, her duty and the people she loves...before she loses Sang, her magic, and thrusts the world into chaos.

“The Nature of Witches is a love letter to the earth. This lush, atmospheric book charmed me with its magic system, captured my heart with its swoony romance, and stole my breath with its gorgeous words. I want to wallpaper my home with Rachel Griffin's sentences.”

Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of Today Tonight Tomorrow

The Nature of Witches is unlike anything I have read before. With its wholly original take on witches, thought-provoking commentary on climate change, and a swoony romance I would die for, Griffin has crafted a magnificent debut that will have readers on the edge of their seats. To put it simply — I'm obsessed with this book!”

Adalyn Grace, New York Times bestselling author of All the Stars and Teeth

“The forces of nature and magic blend perfectly in this masterfully told story. The Nature of Witches is one of the most well-developed magical worlds I've read in a long time. I couldn't love this book more."

Shea Ernshaw, NYT bestselling author of The Wicked Deep and Winterwood

The Nature of Witches is a timely, thoughtful tale of the responsibilities we have to our planet and to one another. Griffin's well-developed world building and complex main character make for a read that will resonate deeply."

Christine Lynn Herman, author of THE DEVOURING GRAY duology

“Vibrant and magical, The Nature of Witches is an achingly beautiful exploration of love and hope perfect for fans of Shea Ernshaw and Taylor Swift's Folklore. This book is a ray of sunshine.”

Rosiee Thor, author of Tarnished Are the Stars

"A bright, fresh read from a glowing new voice, The Nature of Witches is both timely and stirring. Griffin's emotional writing that cuts to the heart will make her a new YA favorite."

Adrienne Young, New York Times bestselling author of Fable

“I could have stayed lost in the pages and magic of The Nature of Witches forever. Griffin's lush prose and evocative imagery adorns and compliments the thoughtfully designed world, and the well-drawn characters triumphantly carry the story from beginning to end. A stunning and timely debut.”

Isabel Ibañez, author of Woven in Moonlight and Written in Starlight

“Seasonal magic abounds in this addictively thought-provoking tale of love, loss and self-identity.”

Dawn Kurtagich, award-winning author of The Dead House